Sewing for sanity

Standard

I’ve taken a brief break from reading to get back to some of my sewing. I mean, one can only last so long with so much killing from A Song of Ice and Fire. So, from the world of George R.R. Martin, I turned to Pinterest. Total 180 degree turn, I know. But it was necessary for me to bring back color into my world, color that was not limited to the greys of the Starks and the crimson of the Lannisters.

So, after pinning every damn thing I saw after searching sewing projects, I picked one easy sewing project to re-create. I thus decided to sew myself my own Ipad case. Totally unnecessary, as I had already previously bought several Ipad cases. But, I have a sewing machine, damn it, and I wanted to use it. So. There you go.

Phonto(1)

Bright pink Ipad case: there’s no chance of losing this one… I hope!

My fabric choice was limited. Thus, I was forced to pick the most girlish of all, a bright pink with white polka dots. This sewing project took all of two hours or so. I mean, it must be around two hours since I was watching season 1 of the HBO Game of Thrones while I was sewing and I went through two full episodes before I finished sewing. I might have finished sooner, though, if I weren’t frequently looking up at the screen to see what was going on.

Anyway, this was a very easy project. I had cut two fabrics: one bright pink polka dot fabric and another fleece fabric as lining. I also had a stiff interfacing sandwiched between these two fabrics. I ought to have inserted some sort of batting or foam to act as cushion for the Ipad. But like I said, my materials were limited. And anyway, I could insert my Ipad together with its leather case inside this pink case so the batting was not so necessary. I also attached velcro to keep it closed and prevent the Ipad from slipping out.

I’ve also lined up one or two more sewing projects. But, like everything else, I do it during the snippets of spare time I have. Now, how about going back to A Feast For Crows?

Leave a comment